Aspirnaut student working with her mentor in the lab

Outreach is a cornerstone activity at the LSI, supporting the connections between research, teaching and service to the public. As members of a public university, and participants in publicly-funded research, we view outreach to the public as inseparable from our scientific mission and from our core values.

LSI community members inspire and support future generations to pursue scientific exploration through a variety of outreach initiatives and activities:

LSI Outreach Awards

The LSI Outreach Awards were established in 2018 to formalize the importance and priority of scientific outreach as part of the LSI’s core values. The awards recognize the many contributions of our collective LSI community — across tenure- and research-track faculty, research staff, postdoctoral fellows, graduate students, and undergrads — to outreach activities.

2023 Award Recipients

  • Cheng-Yu Lee, Ph.D., Tenure-track and tenured faculty award
  • Emily Bristow, Research staff award
  • Matt Holding, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award (tie)
  • Pilar Rivero-Rios, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award (tie)
  • Ayza Croskey, Graduate student award
  • Lilly Zgodic, Undergradaute student award

2022 Award Recipients

  • Chelsey Spriggs, Ph.D., Tenure-track and tenured faculty award
  • Mary Zylinski, Research staff award
  • Amanda Erwin, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award
  • Lauren Hart, Graduate student award

2021 Award Recipients

  • Bing Ye, Ph.D., Tenure-track and tenured faculty award
  • Pam Schultz, Research staff award
  • Jennifer Schmidt, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award
  • Fatima Javed, Graduate student award
  • Gaurie Gunasekaran, Undergraduate student award

2020 Award Recipients

  • Ashootosh Tripathi, Ph.D., Research-track faculty award
  • Brittany Morgan, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award
  • Maribel Okiye, Graduate student award
  • Denise Poltavski, Graduate student award

2019 Award Recipients

  • Lois Weisman, Ph.D., Tenured and tenure-track faculty award
  • Isin Cakir, Ph.D. Research-track faculty award
  • Clarissa Durie, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award
  • Melody Sanders, Graduate student award
  • Colleen Hadley, Undergraduate student award

2018 Award Recipients

  • Alison Narayan, Ph.D., Tenured and tenure-track faculty award
  • Savannah Williams, Research staff award
  • Jonathan Nelson, Ph.D., Postdoctoral research fellow award
  • Oleta Johnson, Ph.D., Alumni award
  • Attabey Rodríguez Benítez, Graduate student award