Lab members

Postdoctoral Fellows

Yujia Hu, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: henryhu [at]

(Tongji University) 

Kenichi Iwasaki, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: kiwasaki [at]

(University of Michigan) 

Tao Yang, Ph.D.
Postdoctoral Fellow
Email: taoyang [at]

(Institute of Genetics and Developmental Biology, Chinese Academy of Sciences)


Graduate Students

Takuya Kaneko
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: tkaneko [at]

(CDB), B.S. (University of Tokyo)

Rackham Predoctoral Fellowship Awardee

Sarah Pizzano
Graduate Student
Email: spizzano [at]

Macy Veling
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: wenqianz [at]

(CMB), B.S. (University of Massachusetts, Amherst).

NRSA Predoctoral Fellow 

Hao Liu
Ph.D. Candidate
Email: falleave [at]

(CDB), B.S. (Shanghai Jiaotong University)


Undergraduate Students

Katie Emery
Undergraduate Student

Chris Litt

Undergraduate Student
Email: clitts [at]

Nicholas Prin
Undergraduate Student
Email: nprin [at]

Visiting Students

Ruonan Li
Visiting Student
Email: ruonanli [at]







  • Xin Wang, Ph.D. (MCDB) (2008-2013); B.S. (Tsinghua University). After Ye lab: postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Liqun Luo's lab at Stanford University. 
  • Gabriella Sterne, (Neuroscience) (2011-2015), B.S. (Whitman College). After Ye lab: postdoctoral fellow in Dr. Barry Dickson's lab in Janelia Farm Research Campus, Howard Hughes Medical Institute.
  • Ann Marie Macara, (MCDB) (2013-2016), B.S. (University of Toronto). After Ye lab: Science Specialist, The Synapse School, Menlo Park, CA 


  • Jung Hwan Kim, (2008-2016), Ph.D. (Pohang University of Sci. & Tech., Korea). After Ye lab:  Assistant professor in Department of Biology, University of Nevada, Reno.
  • Wei Zhou, (2009-2012), Ph.D. (Institute of Neuroscience, Chinese Academy of Sciences). After Ye lab: Associate professor in Huazhong University of Science and Technology, China.  
  • Limin Yang, (2010-2012), Ph.D. (Jilin University). After Ye lab: Professor in Dalian University, China. 
  • Masha Savelieff, (2013-2015), Ph.D. (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign). After Ye lab: Research Specialist Associate in the Castro-Lowenstein lab in the University of Michigan.


  • Ian McLachlan, (2008-2010), B.S. (University of Michigan). After Ye lab: Ph.D. candidate at Harvard University. A NSF Graduate Research Fellowship awardee. 
  • Megan Stewart, (2009-2011), B.S. (Oakland University). After Ye lab: Ph.D. candidate in University of Michigan. 
  • Rosemary Coolon, (2012-2015), B.S. (Kansas State University); M.S. (Kansas State University). After Ye lab: Mouse colony manager, Laboratory of Pietro De Camilli, Yale University. 


  • Laura Essex, (2008-2011), B.S. (University of Michigan), (received Rinella Scholarship, UROP Biomedical Fellowship, and LSI Perrigo Undergraduate Fellowship for her research in Ye lab). After Ye lab: Ph.D. student at the University of California Riverside.
  • Matthew Clark, (2010-2011), B.S. (University of Arizona), NIH PREP Scholar. After Ye lab: Ph.D. candidate in the laboratory of Dr. Chris Doe at the University of Oregon.