Scientific Advisory Board

The Life Sciences Institute's leadership is guided by a scientific advisory board comprised of scientists representing a range of academic and industry experience.

  • Peter Agre, M.D., Director, Johns Hopkins Malaria Research Institute at the Bloomberg School of Public Health, Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore; 2003 Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
  • Susan G. Amara, Ph.D., Scientific Director, National Institute of Mental Health, National Institutes of Health
  • Joel Elmquist, D.V.M., Ph.D., Professor, Internal Medicine and Pharmacology, Maclin Family Distinguished Professor in Medical Science, in Honor of Dr. Roy A. Brinkley, Carl H. Westcott Distinguished Chair in Medical Research, Director, Division of Hypothalamic Research, UT Southwestern Medical Center
  • Vishva M. Dixit, M.D., Vice President, Physiological Chemistry, Genentech, Inc.
  • Helen H. Hobbs, M.D., Dallas Heart Ball Chair in Cardiology Research, Philip O'Bryan Montgomery Jr., M.D., Distinguished Chair in Developmental Biology, Eugene McDermott Distinguished Chair and Director, Eugene McDermott Center for Human Growth and Development, University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center, Dallas
  • C. Ronald Kahn, M.D., Chief Academic Officer, Joslin Diabetes Center and SectionChief of Integrative Physiology and Metabolism; Mary K. Iacocca Professor of Medicine, Harvard Medical School, Boston
  • Laura Kiessling, Ph.D., Hilldale Professor of Chemistry and Biochemistry, Laurens Anderson Professor of Biochemistry, University of Wisconsin, Madison
  • Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D., Chairman, CEO and President, Vertex Pharmaceuticals, Cambridge, Massachusetts
  • Paul M. Meister, President, MacAndrews & Forbes Holdings Inc. and Co-Founder of Liberty Lane Partners, LLC
  • Stuart Orkin, M.D., Department of Pediatric Oncology, Dana Farber Cancer Institute, Boston; David G. Nathan Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
  • Craig C. Parker, Senior Vice President and Head of Corporate Development, Jazz Pharmaceuticals
  • Randy W. Schekman, Ph.D., Howard Hughes Medical Institute Investigator, Professor of Molecular and Cell Biology, University of California, Berkeley; 2013 Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine
  • David R. Walt, Ph.D., Core Faculty Member, Wyss Institute at Harvard University; Professor of Pathology, Harvard Medical School; Howard Hughes Medical Institute Professor; Founder of Illumina, Inc. and Quanterix, Corp.